ALL ABOARD!!!

January 17, 2011 § 2 Comments

What they say about Portland is true…
Portland knows fiber. On Jan 15th at 12:30 I laid down to try and get some sleep. Sat. was going to be a very busy and long day. Snohomish County knitter’s guild was hosting a yarn train…a train ride from Seattle WA. to Portland OR. The train would pull out of Seattle at 7:20 am. We (Norma & I) live an hour and forty five minutes north of Seattle. My phone started ringing at 3:00 am it was Norma (my morning loving sister) waking me to be sure I had coffee in me I think. The day had started. By the time we were in line with tickets in hand at the Seattle Train Station it was 6:55. My niece Anna joined us in Olympia WA. It rained and rained and rained some more…the whole way there we kept looking out hoping to see a break, but it was not to be. We stepped off the train in Portland in the now pouring  rain and decided we had better find a map…..Thanks to Andrea from Apple yarn in Bellingham, she found them and pointed me in the right direction. We followed the masses to the 1st local yarn store on our trek “Urban Fibers” a very nice store, the people were so friendly and nice. To have on the up side of 60ish knitters walk in all at once and I think they greeted each and every one of us. We walked from there down, around and over to “Knit Purl” I found some wonderful madelinetosh tosh sock yarn in Duchess and some tosh lace in Tart. From there we decided to go to Starbucks and have a coffee and see if we could find the bus line to take us to The Yarn Garden. That is where we met one of Portland’s “finest” Michele B. She is such a sweet heart. When we asked her about the bus lines and getting to The Yarn Garden she offered to give us a ride. As always the yarn garden was wonderful. I found some Prism Yarn in some beautiful colors that remind me of a grandmothers rose garden but they call it Orchard. I also found some yarn called FAME trend in Party….

De-Lish

Thank you Michele....see she even took pictures.

I think it will be just perfect for Michele B’s infinity scarf http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/infinity-entrelac-infinity-scarf .  As we were leaving Michele told us of a store across the street and down the block so we ran over to a sweet shop called Happy Knits. And by SWEET I do mean sweet. In the BIG back room they had chocolate chip cookies there that were still warm. We left there and Michele drove us over to “Twisted”, I thought I had died and gone to yarn heaven…BLUE MOON FIBERS!!!!!    In every color and weight…I wanted one of everything but, I restrained myself… besides the nice girls behind the counter added me to their mailing list and told me all about their wonderful mailing policies….I love that store.

OH I also found a really nice yarn bowl, everyone needs a yarn bowl right? Well I did and now I have one. I love it too. After Twisted Michele dropped us off at Dublin Bay Knitting, another one of Portland’s fine Yarn Stores.  From there we walked back to the Train station and got in another long line. I thought for sure I would get a lot of knitting done on the train ride but….not so much. I Cast on right after we sat down in Seattle and I think I started this little project at least 6 or 7 times. All I can contribute that to is lack of sleep. Well…that’s what I am blaming it on. After an almost 2 hour drive home I crawled into bed at 1:15 am. Sun the 17th. I would do it again but I think I will stay over next time and do all the stores…sadly we did miss a few. I just wanted to say thank you to Portland’s fiber folks and especially to Michele, Michele drove us all over Saturday and I am sure she saved us all from terrable colds.  I am sure God saves special places for people like you. Thanks again.  Portland you are truly fiber Blessed. We will be back next year for sure.

                                                                                        Happy Knitting…

§ 2 Responses to ALL ABOARD!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ALL ABOARD!!! at Eat,Pray,Knit..

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

